Nawaz Sharif's supporters Anadolu Agency/Getty Images



当今的巴基斯坦其实并非构建在1947年8月独立日的基础之上,而是1971年12月,当时在经历了血腥内战后,该国的东部地区分裂为孟加拉国。随后巴基斯坦建立了议会民主制,由富有魅力的总理扎比卡尔·阿里·布托(Zulfikar Ali Bhutto)所领导。

但1977年大选中关于大规模操纵选票行为的指控引发了广泛的动乱,不仅导致了布托的下台(以及最终被处决),还引发了军事政变。穆罕默德·齐亚哈克将军(General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq)于1978年接替了总统职务,并一直任职到他十年后逝世。

To continue reading, please log in or enter your email address.

To continue reading, please log in or register now. After entering your email, you'll have access to two free articles every month. For unlimited access to Project Syndicate, subscribe now.


By proceeding, you are agreeing to our Terms and Conditions.

Log in;

Handpicked to read next

Cookies and Privacy

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. To find out more, read our updated cookie policy and privacy policy.